The new chairpersons for the City of Johannesburg’s 12 entities revealed on 16 March

On Thursday, 16 March, the City of Johannesburg’s Executive Mayor, Herman Mashaba, announced the municipal-owned entity’s new board chairpersons amid reintegration processes that are underway.

The announcement was made at the AGM of the City’s entities. The previous board’s contracts ended but were not renewed, on the same day. These board members, however, will be reintegrated into the City that will result in the board being dissolved.

A representative from the auditor general’s office, Mahomed Moosa, gave an overview of the entity’s financial status. Only four of the 12 entities received a clean audit in the 2015/16 financial year, compared to six, the previous year. Two entities (City Power and Metropolitan Trading Company) are currently being investigated.

The mayor said the City has struggled to satisfactorily achieve service delivery levels and challenged top decision makers to examine their own performances. “I believe that in order for us to achieve the service delivery demanded by our residents, every official, every board member and municipal entity must recognise that there are many problems within our system and then take proactive steps to eradicate them,” he said.

In the spirit of this change, Mashaba said the City also announced the appointment of the board’s chairpersons and various board members of the entities. “Our new chairpersons are drawn from various walks of life and each has demonstrated a commitment to serving the public. For them, public service is a vocation, not a career,” he said.

The new chairpersons are:

  • City Power – Lael Bethlehem
  • Pikitup – Bhekisisa Shongwe
  • Joburg Market – Doris Dondur
  • Johannesburg Property Company – Pat Corbin
  • Johannesburg Roads Agency – Sipho Tshabalala
  • Johannesburg Water – Getty Simelane
  • Metropolitan Trading Company (MTC) – Leapeetswe Molotsane
  • Metrobus – Yolisa Mashilwane
  • Joburg City Theatres – Nkopane Maphiri
  • Johannesburg City Parks and Zoo – Edgar Neluvhalani
  • Johannesburg Development Agency – Dawood Coovadia
  • Johannesburg Housing Company – Bhekisipho Twala.

The previous chairperson of City Power, Reverend Frank Chikane, told Eye Witness News, after the announcement, that he regrets leaving the entity under a ‘dark cloud’.

Mashaba earlier expressed his dissatisfaction with how the board dealt with the investigations into the allegation of corruption at the entity, which is still underway.

Read: Mashabas olive branch

Chantelle Fourie

Latest News


Next Story x
Elderly residents take up Mashaba’s call to clean up the city