Know your national key points

OR Tambo International Airport is among the national key points. PHOTO: George Herald

The court bid, led by the Right2Know Campaign and SA History Archive, was successfully granted in December last year.

National key points are sites that tend to be related to national security, or are of strategic importance, such as military bases. According to South Africa’s National Key Points Act of 1980, areas or sites that are declared national key points cannot be photographed or publicly identified.

Currently, 200 sites have now been identified as national key points, including OR Tambo International Airport in Kempton Park, the Majuba Power Station in Mpumalanga and Parliament House in the Western Cape.

Sites that didn’t make the list include the Waterkloof Air Force Base, which attracted controversy when the Gupta family flew 204 guests into the base ahead of a wedding at the Sun City Resort in 2013.

President Jacob Zuma’s residence in KwaZulu-Natal is also a national key point, despite the fact that it attracted weighty controversy in the past year.

Here is the full list of the key points, provided by the Mail & Guardian:

Onderstepoort Biological Products

Union Buildings Presidency

Mahlambandlovu Pres Res

Sefako Makgatho Presidential Res

OR Tambo International airport

SSA Communication Centre

Main Telephone Exchange (PPR)

Apollo Transmission Station

Minerva Transmission Station

SA Bank Note Company

Denel Dynamics

Pretoria Metal Pressing

Pretoria Metal Pressing Pta West

Denel Land Systems Lyttelton

CSIR Wind Tunnel

SA Post Office Computer Centre

SA Reserve Bank HQSA

Reserve Bank: Pta North

New Cooperation Building ID Factory

SABC Tshwane

SITA Numerus Building

SITA Centurion

Denel Integrated System Solutions


Government Printing Works (Sec Print Facility)

Waltloo TPL Depot

Rheinmetall Denel Munition

SABC Building Auckland Park

Sentech Tower in Brixton, Johannesburg

SENTECH Transmission & Satellite Centre

Office of Interception Centres

Eskom National Control Centre, Simmerpan

City Power Johannesburg Pty (Ltd)

Grootvlei Power Station

Former Pres Res NR Mandela GP

Former, Pres Res T Mbeki GP

Pres Residence of SA GP

Gauteng Provincial Legislature


African Explosives Ltd

NCP Chlorchem, Chloorkop, Kempton Park

Denel Aviation

BAE Systems Benoni

SA Mint

SA Reserve Bank, Johannesburg

Shell Depot Alrode

Chevron Alrode

Sasol Depot Alrode

Total Depot

Transnet Pipeline: Alrode

Chevron Texaco

Transnet Pipeline: Airporte-Natis Facility

Rand Water. Zwartkopjies

Rand Water: Zuikerbosch

Rand Water: Vereeniging

Rand Water: Mapleton

Rand Water: Barrage

Rand Water: Palmiet

Rand Water: Eikenhof

Transnet Pipeline Tarlton Distribution Depot

Klerksdorp Depot

Langlaagte Depot

Vaaldam Pump Station

Meyerton Depot


Gauteng / North West

Transnet Pipeline Rustenburg Depot

North West Provincial Legislature

Hartebeeshoek Earth Station

NECSASA National Space Agency (SANSA)

SABC Lt North West

Eastern Cape


Grassridge Transmission Station, Addo

SA Reserve Bank, Port Elizabeth

SA Reserve Bank, East London

SABC Bhisho

EC Provincial Legislature

Oil Tanking Grinrod Caluto (Ltd) Port of Ngqura

Former Pres NR Mandela Qunu Village


Free State


Natref Petronet Pump Station, Bethlehem

Coalbrook Petrol Pump Station

Sasol Pump Station

Perseus Transmission Station

Centlec Pty (Ltd) Electricity Distribution Station

SABC Free State (BFN) Kroonstad Pump Station

Lethabo Power Station

SA Reserve Bank, Bloemfontein

FS Provincial Legislature, Bloemfontein

Magdala TPL Depot

Wilge TPL Depot


Free State / Northern Cape

Hydra Transmission Station

SABC Kimberley Northern Cape

Square Kilometer Array Site (SKA)
NC Provincial Legislature


SABC Durban

Total SA (Cutler)

Acacia Operations Services (Heartland Leasing)

Engen Depot (Cutter)

Total Depot (Cutler)

Valvoline Depot (Cutler)

PD Terminals Depot (Cutler)

Caleb Brett (Cutler)

Industrial Oil Processors (Cutler)

Durban Bulk Shipping (Cutler)

SA Petroleum Refinery (SAPREF) (Cutler)

SA Pretroleum Refinery (SAPREF) Reunion
Engen Refinery

Natcos (Cutler)


Single Buoy Mooring

Transnet Pumping Station: Newcastle

Impala Transmission Station

Klaarwater Distribution Station

Pegasus Transmission Station

Drakensberg Power Station

Island View Storage (Cutler)

Caltex Depot (Cutler)

Zenex Depot (Cutler)

Durban South Distribution Station

Transnet Pumping Station – Ladysmith

Transnet Pumping Station – (Cutler)

Transnet Pumping Station – Quegga’s Nek

Transnet Pumping Station – Hillcrest

Transnet Pumping Station – Howick

Transnet Pumping Station – Van Reenen

Pres of SA Res – KZN

Presidential Res – JL Dube House

New Aviation Fuel Depot at KSIA

King Shaka International Airport Air Side

Durban North Distribution Station

Athene Transmission Station

Lotus Park Distribution station

SA Reserve Bank: Durban

Duzi TPL Depot

Mooi River TPL Depot

Fortmistake Transnet Pipeline Ladysmith

Mngeni TPL Depot

Mnambithi TPL Depot

Ntwini TPL Depot

Hilltop TPL Depot

KZN Provincial Legislature



Grootdraai Pumping Station

SABC, Nelspruit

Camden Power Station

Hendrina Power Station

Kriel Power Station

Arnot Power Station

Sol Transmission Station

Matla Power Station

Duvha Power Station

Tutuka Power Station

Kendal Power Station

Komati Power Station

Majuba Power Station

Mpumalanga Boulevard Riverside Gov Building Nelspruit

Transnet Pipeline, Kendal

Sasol Secunda

Transnet Pipelines, Secunda

Jericho Pump Station

Rieftontein Pump Station

Grootfontein Pump Station

Vygeboom Pump Station

Bosloop Water Pump Station

Nooitgedact Pump Station

Transnet Pipeline Witbank Depot

Khutala Pump Station

Zaaihoek Pump Station

Knoppies Tower


Mpumalanga / Limpopo

SABC, Polokwane

Mokolo Pump Station, Limpopo Prov

Matimba Power Station

Limpopo Legislature, Lebowakgomo, Polokwane


Western Cape

Parliament House, 120 Plain Street, Cape Town

Cape Town International Airport

SABC Ltd Western Cape

Chevron Refinery, Cape Town

Saldanha Tank Farm

Muldersvlei Transmission Station

Acasia Transmission Station

Droeriver Transmission Station

Koeberg Nuclear Power Station

RDM Somerset West

RDM Wellington

PetroSA Voorbaai

SA Reserve Bank, Cape Town

PetroSA GTL Refinery

Single buoy mooring Voorbaai

Klipheuwel Pumping Station

FA Production Platform, Mossgas


Presidential Res (Genadendal)

Former Pres Res FW de Klerk (Sea Point)

Former Pres Res NR Mandela (Bishops Court)

Office of the Pres of SA (Tuynhuys)

SABC: Air Time: Cape Town

Western Cape Provincial Legislature

Gourikwa Power Station

SFF Association Storage

Ankerlig Power Station

SFF Oil Jetty

Caxton Digital

Latest News

Recommended Story x
5 Things you need to know about the Bell Pottinger debacle